Which Is Better, Saona Island Or Catalina Island?
A comparison of Saona Island and Catalina Island boat trips from Punta Cana: distance, snorkeling, crowds, departure points, food and price, based on the actual listings.
Two islands sit off the southeastern Dominican coast, close enough that tour boats from Punta Cana reach both, different enough that picking the wrong one can reshape your whole day. Saona Island is the postcard everyone has seen: a protected national park beach reached by speedboat and catamaran, with a natural pool full of starfish along the way. Catalina Island is the smaller sibling, quieter on the sand and better known for its reef snorkeling, and one dedicated all-inclusive Catalina day trip on this site bills itself as more exclusive than Saona. If that postcard fame has you leaning toward Saona, our guide to why Saona Island is so famous covers the starfish pool, the island's protected park status, and how the boat tours from Punta Cana actually work.
The Saona and Catalina tours listed here sit side by side, and each offers something different: where the boats leave from, what the snorkeling is like, how many people share the beach with you, and what the price difference really buys.
Saona is the better choice for a lively, full-production island day: more tours to pick from, bigger groups, buffet lunches, open bars and a lively catamaran return, with the most reviewed trip here at 4.4 from 4,767 reviews, from $71.20 per person. Catalina is the better choice for a calmer, more snorkeling-focused day: the dedicated Catalina tour runs 9 hours, from $57.96 per person, with lunch, open bar, gear and park admission all included.
Neither island is objectively superior. Saona wins on scale and spectacle, and it is where nearly all of the island trip volume from Punta Cana goes. Catalina wins on water clarity and crowd levels, and its dedicated listing on this site is priced below every Saona option. The honest answer is that the islands suit two different travelers, and the rest of this comparison shows exactly where the differences land. If you find yourself leaning toward Saona but still hedging, our honest verdict on whether a Saona Island trip is worth it covers who the day trip suits, the crowds question, and when a catamaran closer to shore is the smarter pick.
If you already know you want the famous one, the Saona full-day catamaran with buffet lunch, from $71.20 per person for 8 hours, is the most booked version here. If a Catalina trip billed as more exclusive than Saona is what caught your attention, the Catalina all-inclusive day is that listing, and you can check availability on its live page. And if your group wants either island entirely to itself, the private luxury catamaran charter covers Saona or Catalina from $1,990 per group for 8 hours.
Where Each Island Sits And How You Get There
Both islands lie off the southeastern coast inside protected waters, and both are reached the same way from Punta Cana: a road transfer to a mainland port, then a boat. Saona trips run 7 to 11 hours door to door; the Catalina listing runs 9 hours. The difference is the port and the boat mix: Saona combines speedboats and catamarans, Catalina runs by catamaran.
Listings describe the classic Saona pattern: an early hotel pickup in Punta Cana or Bávaro, a drive to the Bayahíbe area port, a speedboat or power catamaran out, and a sailing catamaran back with music and drinks. The most reviewed Saona listing on this site, the catamaran and buffet lunch trip from $71.20, includes a 30-minute stop at the biggest natural swimming pool and around 3 hours on the island itself. A longer variant runs 9.5 hours from $72.50 per person.
The Catalina all-inclusive listing describes a different shape of day: mini-coach or bus transfer, then a catamaran out to the island, with hotel pickup and drop-off included and Cotubanamá National Park admission in the price. Snorkeling gear is listed on the Catalina line, which matters because several Saona listings explicitly list snorkeling gear as an exclusion rather than an inclusion, so check the line for whichever Saona trip you book.
One shared detail worth knowing: both islands fall inside Cotubanamá National Park, the protected area formerly called Parque Nacional del Este. Park rules on both prohibit lifting or handling starfish and other marine life, and operators instruct guests to leave single-use plastics behind. The Saona party catamaran guide covers the Saona route and its stops in more detail.

Snorkeling And Marine Life Compared
Catalina is the stronger snorkeling island of the two on the listings' own descriptions: its dedicated tour lists snorkeling gear and reef snorkeling as core inclusions. On Saona, the headline in-water stop is the natural pool, a waist-deep sandbank with starfish, and several Saona listings exclude snorkeling gear, so the reef experience depends on the specific trip you book.
The Catalina listing includes snorkeling gear, admission to the national park, an all-you-can-eat lunch and drinks, which reads as a day built around the water rather than around the beach party. Catalina's reef sits close to the island, and guests reach it directly from the boat. Operator descriptions of the area's marine life are consistent: nurse sharks and southern stingrays appear in these waters, both wild, both docile bottom-dwellers, and both best observed without touching.
Saona's signature water stop is different. The Piscina Natural, the natural pool on the way to the island, is a shallow sandbank where the starfish live, and listings typically give it 30 to 40 minutes. It is a swimming stop, not a reef dive: the water is waist deep, the bottom is sand, and the park rule against lifting starfish is strictly enforced. Some Saona listings do include snorkeling, among them the small-group luxury catamaran, from $169 per person for 10 hours, which lists snorkel gear and picks up from the Bayahibe and Dominicus area only. The mainstream Saona buffet trips generally do not list gear, and two of them state it as an exclusion outright.
| Feature | Saona listings | Catalina listing |
|---|---|---|
| Headline water stop | Natural pool sandbank, starfish, 30 to 40 minutes | Reef snorkeling straight from the catamaran |
| Snorkel gear | Included on some lines, excluded on others, check the listing | Included |
| Typical time on the island | Around 3 hours | Included in the 9-hour day |
| Park admission | Included on some Saona lines, check the listing | Included |
If clear water over a reef is the point of the day, Catalina is the more direct answer. If the natural pool and the starfish are the draw, Saona delivers that and Catalina does not.
Crowds, Beaches And The Vibe On The Sand
Saona is the busier island by a wide margin: it is the volume destination, with six shared listings running large catamarans and speedboat combos, and multiple departures per day. Catalina receives far fewer boat trips, and its dedicated listing markets itself on exactly that contrast, with "more exclusive than Saona" in the product name. For a quieter beach, Catalina wins. Whichever island you pick, the paperwork comes before the boat, and the Dominican Republic entry requirements and e-Ticket guide explains the passport rules and online form every visitor needs to clear before boarding.
Saona's own listings are honest about the party character of the return leg. The catamaran trip back is described as lively, with music, dancing and an open bar of rum, beer and soft drinks. The island's main beach areas fill up through the middle of the day, and smaller secondary beaches like Canto de la Playa see fewer visitors, with some small-group and private options including them. The beach itself is wide, palm-lined and genuinely spectacular; that is why the volume exists.
Catalina's beach day is a different animal. With one main all-inclusive listing on this site rather than six, the sand simply does not receive the same number of boats, and the pace of the day reflects that. The trade-off is production: Saona's lively catamaran return, DJ energy and group party atmosphere have no real equivalent on the Catalina line, which is described in terms of an all-inclusive beach and snorkeling day rather than a floating party.
The group-size numbers tell the story. Six shared Saona trips appear on this site, most of them catamaran days with buffet lunch, plus a small-group luxury catamaran option. The Catalina listing does not state a capacity. Travelers who want the party should read the Punta Cana party boat formats guide, since a three-hour coastal party boat may actually deliver more dancing per dollar than either island day.

Food, Drinks And What The Listings Actually Include
Both islands' headline listings are all-inclusive days, but the details differ. Every Saona full-day tour here lists a buffet lunch, and most include an open bar of national drinks; the Catalina listing includes an all-you-can-eat lunch and drinks with its open bar. Prices run from $57.96 per person for Catalina up to $169 for the Saona small-group luxury catamaran.
The Saona buffet is a known quantity: Dominican fare, barbecue, salads and typical island dishes, served on the beach, with vegetarian options noted on at least one listing. The open bar on the standard Saona lines covers beer, rum and soft drinks, with lobster and premium drinks reserved for VIP options where stated. The exclusion lists are equally consistent: towels, photos, tips and snorkeling gear appear repeatedly as not included.
The Catalina all-inclusive listing includes lunch and drinks within its open bar, plus snorkeling gear, hotel pickup and drop-off, transport by mini-coach or catamaran, onboard entertainment and the national park admission ticket. Its exclusions are packed breakfasts, professional pictures and anything outside the buffet and open bar. From $57.96 per person, it is the lowest-priced full island day here, undercutting every Saona line.
| Listing | Island | Price | Duration | Rating | Lunch | Open bar | Gear |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Catalina Island all-inclusive | Catalina | From $57.96 per person | 9 hours | 4.0 from 62 reviews | Included | Listed | Included |
| Saona catamaran with buffet | Saona | From $71.20 per person | 8 hours | 4.4 from 4,767 reviews | Included | Listed | Not stated |
| Saona cruise with lunch and open bar | Saona | From $72.50 per person | 9.5 hours | 4.0 from 546 reviews | Included | Listed | Not stated |
| Saona by catamaran with lunch | Saona | From $60 per person | 8 hours | 4.0 from 93 reviews | Included | Listed | Not stated |
| Saona small-group luxury catamaran | Saona | From $169 per person | 10 hours | 4.7 from 356 reviews | Included | Not stated | Included |
The private route deserves its own line of thought. The private luxury catamaran charter, from $1,990 per group for 8 hours with a 5.0 rating from 94 reviews, lets a group choose Saona or Catalina and carries its own guide, snacks, water, juices, rum and local beers, with lunch and additional drinks as exclusions. For a birthday or a large family group, that single charter answers the whole question: your island, your music, no other boat's schedule.
One safety note that applies to both islands: the Dominican Navy's port captaincies issued Ordenanza CDP06-2025, setting minimum safety requirements for tourism vessels under Dominican jurisdiction, and the Armada buoyed the navigation channel to the Bávaro natural pool in collaboration with the Ministry of Tourism. Licensed operators on both islands work under that framework, and the sea itself always has the final word; whether a boat sails is the operator's call under the listing's cancellation terms.
Which Island Fits Which Kind Of Trip
Pick Saona for the big famous day: the natural pool, the lively catamaran return, the buffet on the beach and the widest choice of departures, from $60 per person. Pick Catalina for a quieter, reef-focused all-inclusive day at the lowest island price here, from $57.96 per person. Groups and celebrations should price the private charter that covers either island, from $1,990 per boat.
Families usually land on Saona, because children are allowed with supervision on the mainstream listings and the island has space, shade and a shallow sandbank that suits mixed ages. Snorkelers and couples more often land on Catalina, where the reef is the centerpiece and the crowds are thinner. Party groups should think carefully: a Saona day is long, and its party happens mostly on the return catamaran, while a dedicated three-hour party boat off Bávaro concentrates the whole experience. The Saona versus speedboat comparison breaks down that choice for the Saona side.
There is also a timing angle. Saona trips are long: 7 to 11 hours door to door here, with early pickups and returns into the early evening. Catalina runs 9 hours. Neither fits a lazy departure day, and both need the free electronic entry form sorted before you fly in the first place, per the official entry requirements at godominicanrepublic.com. Seasonally, Atlantic hurricane season runs 1 June to 30 November, and sargassum on the east-facing coast is a spring-and-summer phenomenon; the Caribbean-side islands are generally more sheltered, per the USF Sargassum Watch program, whose latest bulletin shows amounts declining but still relatively high for the time of year.
Whatever you choose, book through the listing and read its inclusion and exclusion lists before you pay, because those lists, not the island's reputation, are what the operator owes you on the day. On Punta Cana Party Boats every island listing carries its full inclusions, exclusions, departure details and cancellation terms in plain text, so the comparison above can be checked line by line before you commit.

Common Questions About Saona Versus Catalina
Which Is Better, Saona Island Or Catalina Island?
Saona is better for the famous full-production island day: natural pool, buffet lunch, lively catamaran return and the most reviewed listing on this site at 4.4 from 4,767 reviews. Catalina is better for a quieter, snorkeling-focused all-inclusive day, and its dedicated listing is the cheapest island trip on this site, from $57.96 per person.
Is Catalina Island Less Crowded Than Saona Island?
Yes, based on how the trips are structured. Saona is the volume destination with six shared tours here, most aboard large catamarans. Catalina has one main all-inclusive listing, which markets itself as more exclusive than Saona by name.
Do Both Island Tours Include Lunch And Drinks?
Every Saona full-day listing here lists a buffet lunch, and most list an open bar of national drinks. The Catalina all-inclusive listing includes an all-you-can-eat lunch, drinks within its open bar, snorkeling gear and national park admission.
Which Island Has Better Snorkeling?
Catalina, on the listings' own descriptions. Its tour centers on reef snorkeling with gear included. Saona's signature water stop is the shallow natural pool sandbank with starfish, and several Saona listings list snorkeling gear as an exclusion, so check the specific line before booking.
How Long Do The Boat Trips To Each Island Take?
Saona full-day tours on this site run 7 to 11 hours door to door, including hotel pickup, road transfer and the boat legs. The Catalina all-inclusive day runs 9 hours. Both require early morning pickups from Punta Cana and Bávaro hotels.